the Leader Impact-5, (LI-5, v 1.4)


It is Super Saturday.  That means it is time for the Leader Impact-5: top five posts I read this week on living, loving, leading, learning and leaving a legacy.

Live well.  I have always felt guilty about naps.  Though I don’t take them quite like I used to, I have benefitted from an occasional 5 minute power nap.  @MichaelHyatt made me realize I am in good company.  Many geniuses were nap takers.  Hmmm, wonder if I sleep more if I will become a genius.  Probably not, but Hyatt outlines a few benefits and tips for power napping. Check out 5 Reasons Why You Should Take a Nap Every Day.

Love Deeply. I went to the preview of The Hunger Games with my daughter.  Though I had not read the books, she filled me in on the plot.   The concept is barbaric, but the movie was well done.  I liked it.  I was impressed by the courage and the compassion of the heroine, Katniss.  @ofdustandkings has a deeply insightful blog on the impact of love throughout history in The Historical Hunger Games: How Christian Love Revolutionized the World.

Lead Courageously.  @leadchangegroup helps leaders grow leaders.  Growing in character-the real you is of utmost importance in leadership.  Charisma is not necessarily bad except when it is a cover for bad character.  Character with charisma can be a powerful combination for influence. Charisma without character leads to counterfeit leadership.  Read more: Character vs. Charisma in Leadership.

Learn Continuously.  Kentucky won the NCAA championship on Monday night.  The Men’s college basketball 2011-2012 season is over.  But for an effective leader, learning never ends.  @KevinEikenberry shares great practical thoughts on learning in The Final Four Thoughts on Learning.

Leave a legacy.  I ran across a great Ralph Nader quote this week:  “The function of leadership is to produce more leaders, not more followers.” @terrymorgan11 has been producing leaders in her family and in ministry for almost 30 years now.  I personally benefit every day from her leadership since I am married to her.  She has two great posts this week about leaving a legacy.  I couldn’t decide which one was better so heré are both.  Check them out: it’s a process and process ‘til the end. Which one do YOU like better?

Who are your favorite bloggers or people you follow on Twitter?  Leave a comment.

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Lead Courageously, Learn Continuously, Leave a Legacy, Live Well, Love Deeply and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the Leader Impact-5, (LI-5, v 1.4)

  1. T. E. Hanna says:

    I love this, and thanks for linking to my article! I hadn’t realized you were with CC4C! I bet you havee some pretty amazing stories to share.

What do you think?

