Multiplying My Time


Time always seems to be at a premium. Have you ever wished you could just stop the clock or add more hours to the day?

Over the years, I have had to learn to multiply my time as a leader.

Here are several miscellaneous thoughts that I have used to make better use of my time:

1.  On the job:

    • force myself to make decisions
    • say “No” to activities I don’t have time to do
    • use a system to write down ideas and things to remind me of future commitments
    • listen to podcasts while driving or running errands

2.  Beware of Time Wasters:

    • Too much sleep.  Get a little less and take a power nap in the day, if you can do that.
    • Thumbing through magazines
    • Social media (Facebook and Twitter) if I don’t have a plan, purpose or time limit
    • Email: if I open it up first thing in the morning before I have my game-face on, I am toast.

3.  Travel

    • Listen to podcasts and books while traveling
    • Plan errands
    • I seldom like to travel alone.  Travel time is great relational time and more fun.

4.  Thinking

    • Include think time in schedule rather than wait for free time to magically appear.
    • Work when others in the house are asleep.

5.  Pace self

    • Plan and set up your own structure and stick to it
    • Use deadlines (remember: work expands to fit the available time)
    • Work hard and reward yourself with breaks-delay gratification
    • Schedule tough jobs when you have high energy

6.  Appointments and meetings

    • Some people like to schedule things back to back.  I have found that I need some downtime and think time before I head into the next appointment.  That helps me be better prepared and emotionally engaged for the next meeting.
    • 5 minutes of planning can save an hour
    • Determine the objectives

7.  Read a piece of mail or email once, and deal with it.  I stopped checking email and started doing it.

8.  Reading

    • Look over a book first by reading the flap, the author information and the table of contents.  Determine what you want to get out of the book
    • Read as rapidly as possible looking for main ideas and take notes as you go.  This will be a good review at the end.  Kindle really helps this!

What ways have you found to multiply your time?

Related posts you might find helpful:

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Lead Courageously, Live Well. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Multiplying My Time

  1. The apostle Paul also traveled with mentees…that is a great suggestion. I cherish the times I remember traveling with leaders – I was able to see them in a different context, have deeper conversations and see how to have fun. I like that insight Steve.

What do you think?

