Staying in Love


When it comes to work, leadership, life or marriage, we can easily fall into the trap of the false thinking that the grass is greener somewhere else.  The reality is this:

the grass is greener wherever we water and take care of it!

mom n dad grayscaleI could not find the origin of this story, but it humorously puts things into perspective on love and marriage.  Enjoy!

After being married for 50 years, I took a careful look at my wife one day and said, “Fifty years ago we had a cheap house, a junk car, slept on a sofa bed and watched a 10-inch black and white TV, but I got to sleep with a hot 23-year-old girl every night.

Now, I have a $500,000 home, a $45,000 car, a nice big bed and a large screen TV, but I’m sleeping with a 69-year-old woman. It seems to me that you’re not holding up your side of things.”

My wife is a very reasonable woman. She told me to go out and find a hot 23-year-old girl and she would make sure that I would once again be living in a cheap house, driving a junk car, sleeping on a sofa bed and watching a 10-inch black and white TV.

Aren’t older women great? They really know how to solve an old guy’s problems.

My wife and I are on year 28 of our marriage. Still young!  We have gone through many seasons with ups and downs, but we are more in love today than when we started.  My parents celebrated 56 years together shortly before my mom passed away in August.

Read 4 Practices for Kindling Love in Marriage about their secrets.

What are you doing to keep the grass green?  What do you do to keep love kindling in your marriage?

Other posts you might enjoy:

 

 

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Laugh Loudly, Love Deeply, Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Staying in Love

  1. Pingback: Aren’t older women great? | My Underwood Typewriter

  2. Pingback: 24 People Who Are Really Nailing This Parenting Thing | Leader Impact

What do you think?

