Five Qualities of the Leader of the Future


I am just two months from (hopefully) finishing my M.A. in Global Leadership from Azusa Pacific.  It has been three stretching, learning  and valuable years along with my wife who is also in the same program.

One thing we have enjoyed has been to work out many of our assignments and projects in conjunction with our work on the Global Leadership Development team with Cru.  Our boss is a great learner, thinker and avid reader.  She recently shared this video by Marshall Goldsmith @coachgoldsmith with our Global Leadership Development/Human Resources (LDHR) community.  In the video, Goldsmith shares five qualities of leaders of the future in 6 minutes.  Check them out.  Let me know what you think…

What did you think of those qualities?  Which ones did you like?  Which ones might be more of a challenge for you?

Other related posts:

 

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Coaching, Lead Courageously and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Qualities of the Leader of the Future

  1. terry morgan says:

    Agreed with them all! I’d love to see a follow-up post on how to help leaders develop those traits!

    • Steve Morgan says:

      OK. Well, let’s see what leaders think about this. Any ideas on Terry’s comment? How do you develop these 5 traits?

      For me, it starts with humility. When I think I already know it all, then it is game over. Those times when I am consciously aware of my lack, I am curious and hungry to learn more. Putting myself or other leaders in situations where they have authority, responsibility and the possibility of real failure, is motivating to learn…and learn fast what I don’t know. I think that is true if I am going to a new culture, or needing to learn a new language/system in the digital world to lead more effectively. Humility also forces my hand to shared leadership and partnering. Because I don’t know it all and can’t do it all, I need to rely on others if we are to get to the mission. I am interested in what others think and have to say about this..

  2. daylerogers says:

    Love this–all are so necessary. I agree with you, Steverino–it has to start with humility. Recognizing I’m not all that. That I can and should be willing to learn more. Be willing to be willing. Sometimes that’s the hardest place for me to be–a willingness to be willing to learn something new or recognize something needs to be changed in me. Thanks, friend, for your insights here–and the video.

    • Steve Morgan says:

      Thank YOU for visiting and engaging. I like that be willing to be willing. Sometimes pain makes me willing 🙂 I change when the the pain of staying the same becomes greater than the pain of changing. Change is hard, but staying the same ends up being harder!

What do you think?

