Seven Benefits of Saying “No”


4574574716_4fcc7b151d_b

Do you ever have a hard time saying “No”.  I do. I fear missing out on an opportunity or disappointing people. However, saying “No” does not have to be a negative. There are many positive reasons to use that short two letter word.

  1. Saying “No” now allows me to say “YES” to something better later. Good is often the enemy of the best.
  2. Saying “No” allows someone else to say “Yes”. Teammates are able to experience developmental opportunities when I say no. This requires humility and awareness that I may not be the best person for the job. It requires that I know my own strengths and those of my teammates.
  3. Saying “No” is a reminder that I am not indispensable.
  4. Saying “No” is a “Yes” to a more healthy lifestyle. It keeps me from the stress of over commitment or ever extending myself.
  5. Saying “No” is saying “Yes” to the power of being more in control of my life.
  6. Saying “No” is saying “Yes” to new opportunities I might not have known existed. Once I am more available, I  find other opportunities more in line with my passions and gifting.
  7. Saying “No” gives me time to do whatever I have put on the back burner. (Writing that book, blogging, train for a 5K, give attention to a relationship or project that needs my energy this month, etc.

What helps you say “No”?

Other articles you might enjoy:

Photo credit: kitface via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

 

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Emotional Well Being, Lead Courageously, Live Well and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

