Leaders at Risk


Warning Signs of Leaders who are at Risk

I heard this in a message from our global leadership at a meeting in El Salvador.  Here is a list of several danger signs…

  1. Excusing sin and weakness; blaming others, the organization or circumstances for lack of progress instead of taking personal responsibility.  Having attitude of a victim.
  2. Unbalance between work and marriage or other key relationships.  No life or hobbies outside of work.
  3. Thinking I have special rights and privileges because of my position.
  4. Focusing on outward success and results at work, but neglecting character development.  (Man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart.  1 Samuel 16:7)
  5. Extravagant lifestyle and focus on material things that is not consistent with the Spirit-filled life and eternal perspective.
  6. Lack of depth in my relationships.  Nobody knows me well enough to confront me or keep me accountable.  I keep people at arms length.
  7. No interior life.  There is a focus on the fruits and not the roots.  Eventually the fruit of my life is not consistent with the fruit of the Spirit.
  8. Duplicity.  Leaders ’life and message are not consistent. There is not integrity between my words and my life.
  9. Big desire for positions of power and leadership.
  10. Manipulate others in order to isolate self from confrontations and conflicts with reality.  Trying to be nice, while manipulating others instead of facing into reality though it requires conflict and/or confrontation.
  11. Lack of forgiveness and resolution of conflicts.  No track record of resolving interpersonal conflicts.
  12. Thinking I am in my position because of my talents and gifts, rather than because of God’s blessing.
  13. Attitudes of control and territorialism.  (For example, this is “my” ministry, “my” disciples.  Taking personally criticism about “my” ministry, “my” position.)
  14. Hiding behind a mask of Bible knowledge and superiority to avoid hearing truth and changing.
  15. We stop doing personal evangelism and discipleship.  We are involved in “ministry” but only managing people in the organization.

Obviously any one area of these fifteen that are red lights on the dashboard could take us out if we go very long unchecked.

Try to score yourself:

If you have 1-3 that could apply, you may be at slightly at risk.

If you scored 4-7, there are some serious yellow flags that need to be addressed very soon.

If you scored 8-10, this is a serious red light that you need help in these areas.

If you scored above 10, talk with someone ASAP.

What other warning signs would you add?  Please leave a comment.

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Lead Courageously, Leave a Legacy, Live Well, Love Deeply and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leaders at Risk

  1. Jesús Hernández says:

    Gracias por compartir esto conmigo. Mi deseo es que los líderes terminen bien la carrera que empezamos y leer el artículo me ayuda a reflexionar sobre mi camino.

What do you think?

