The Profe: A wise mentor


I have been reflecting on some of the things that God has given me to succeed in my life and mission.  They all begin with the letter “P”.

The first three were:

Presence,

Promise and

Power.

The next “P” word is:

“Profe”.

Profe is a Spanish word that students use for their favorite teachers in Mexico.  It is short for professor, and is a title of respect and warmth.

Jesus said:

“But when the Spirit of the Truth comes, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen…”

The apostle John reminds us,

“I’ve written to warn you about those who are trying to deceive you. But they’re no match for what is embedded deeply within you—Christ’s anointing, no less!  Christ’s anointing teaches you the truth on everything you need to know about yourself and him, uncontaminated by a single lie. Live deeply in what you were taught.

I love the word picture here of a wise dad taking his son’s hand and walking him through the lessons of life and leadership.  That is one role of the Holy Spirit.  He is the wise guide, a teacher and mentor; He is the Profe.  What a cool picture!

So as a leader and parent, I have the Profe to teach me; I also have the Word of God, the Bible to guide me.

I like what the expanded paraphrase of Psalm 1 says:

“Oh, the happiness, many times over, of the man who does not temporarily or even casually imitate the plan of life of those living in the activity of sinful confusion, nor comes and takes his stand in the midst of those who miss the mark spiritually…But (in contrast to that kind of lifestyle) in God’s Word he takes great pleasure, thinking upon it and pondering it every waking moment, day and night.  The result:  He will become treelike-firm, fruitful, unwithered, and fulfilling the goals in life that God has designed for him.”

So wherever I am in decisions of life, relationships, leadership, work etc., I know that I am never alone.  The Profe (the Holy Spirit), like a wise, aged guide and mentor walks with me; and I have God’s Word to guide me also.

How does knowing you have a mentor 24/7 and a guidebook for life make you feel?

About Steve Morgan

I work in Global Leadership Development with Cru with my wife, Terry. We have been married 30 years and have 4 grown children. We have a Masters in Global Leadership together through Azusa Pacific University. I generally write about 5 “L’s: Living Well, Loving Deeply, Learning Continuously, Leading Courageously and Leaving a Legacy. I occasionally write about Laughing Loudly. Subscribe on the right side to receive an email whenever there is a new post. I invite you to leave your comments so we can dialogue on the various topics and learn from each other. If you are new to the site, you might start with looking at some of the top posts or doing a search on the right side bar for one of the 5 “L’s” that interest you. Or you can view the blog archives for topics. Photo Credit: sarahjoellephotography.com
This entry was posted in Learn Continuously and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

